Pipe Major – Matt Fraser


Matt hails from New Zealand and shifted to Melbourne in 2016 after living in Scotland for five years. In Scotland, Matt played for the Grade 1 Inveraray and District Pipe Band where he achieved multiple top 3 finishes at RSPBA Majors, including 1st at the European Pipe Band Championships and 2nd at the World Pipe Band Championships. He also competed successfully in solo competitions around the games, qualifying for the Silver Medal piobaireachd competitions at Oban and Inverness. Prior to shifting to Scotland, Matt played with the Manawatu Pipe Band in New Zealand. Matt has taken lessons from Don and Matt Smith, Mark McNoe, Stuart Easton, Dr. Brendon Eade, and Dr. Angus MacDonald.

Drum Sergeant – Steven Shedden

newtartan (1)

Steven, originally from Glasgow, Scotland has played at the top level of pipe bands since the early age of 13 – winning his first championship drumming prize in 2007 with Boghall & Bathgate Pipe Band.
Steven later joined The House of Edgar Shotts & Dykehead Pipe Band. Under leadership of 16 time world solo drumming champion, Jim Kilpatrick.
Shotts & Dykehead won the drumming prize at the 2011 World Pipe Band Championships.
Steven is also the current Australian Solo Drumming Champion, having held this title since 2017.
Pipe Sergeant – Katherine Belcher


  • Amber Ives
  • Andrew Dye
  • Andrew Kuiler
  • Cam Devries
  • Cam Ely
  • Craig Sked
  • Dan Wheelan
  • David Stulpner
  • Erin Russel
  • Freddie Cameron
  • Greg Lowe
  • Jack Watson
  • Lewis MacDonald
  • Mark Saul
  • Matt Ead
  • Matt Holzberger
  • Mihin Perera
  • Simon MacLean
  • Struan Thorpe
  • Tristan King
  • Will Sincock


  • Amelia Tong
  • Angus Jones
  • Dylan Fraser
  • Harrison Gill
  • Hayden Middleton
  • Jeremy Harland
  • Joe Flemming
  • Monte Stamm
  • Oscar Panaccio
  • Samual Templeton
  • Thomas Carruthers

Sound Assistants – Neil Marriot, Jordan Johnston

Band Manager – Bruce Freeman

Contest Coordinator – Ian MacMillan

Band Executive:

  • President – Matthew Ead
  • Vice President – Freddie Cameron
  • Treasurer – Bruce Freeman
  • Secretary – Mihin Perera
  • Committee  – Matt Fraser, Steven Shedden, Angus Jones, Will Sincock, Andrew Dye

Life Members:

Ross Campbell
Nancy Endersby
Bruce Freeman
Peter Glover
Bryce Graham
John Kingston
John McIver
Mark McLean
Ian McMillan
Mark Saul
Andrew Scott

Click here for a full list of previous office bearers.